Pondi Cherry from New Mexico Tea Company – Tea Review

Pondi Cherry is a herbal fruit blend featuring cherries, cranberries, raspberries, elderberries, hibiscus and blackberries. This herbal tea is from New Mexico Tea Company.

Pondi Cherry from New Mexico Tea Company - Oolong Owl Tea Review (1)

Similar to the Lady Hannah tea review, this 1oz sampler wasn’t labelled, thus my terrible handwritten label. I keep a stack of labels next to the tea stash as I stick on notes about the tea, like steeping instruction changes. 

DRY LEAF: Well.. not actually leaf in this tea. Dried fruit chunks and bits? Yeah!

Pondi Cherry from New Mexico Tea Company - Oolong Owl Tea Review (2)

The smell of Pondi Cherry is like sweet cherry fruit leather. Mmmm! I made fruit leather once. I snacked on most of it while it was in the dehydrator! Ooops!

Steeping Instructions: I followed the instructions off the website – 6 minutes at 212F for Pondi Cherry tea.

Pink owl is impressed with the colour!

Pondi Cherry from New Mexico Tea Company - Oolong Owl Tea Review (3)

While we wait the 6 minutes for the steeping, Pink owl and I ate some cherries!

Pondi Cherry from New Mexico Tea Company - Oolong Owl Tea Review (4)

The result is.. well… the tea smells pretty tart.

Pondi Cherry from New Mexico Tea Company - Oolong Owl Tea Review (6)

TASTE: TARRRRRT! I knew it was going to be tart, but I was also hoping it wasn’t going to be tart, so I let my tart-guard down. Pondi Cherry tastes like watered down sour cherries. 7 or 8/10 on the Tart-o-meter. This tartness might be drinkable for some and I can sort of sip it, but no thanks.

SWEETENED: I added german rock sugar to make this tea not as tart.

Pondi Cherry from New Mexico Tea Company - Oolong Owl Tea Review (7)

It’s still slightly tart, 3/10 on the Tart-o-meter. The main flavor here is cherry, yay! The cherry flavor is similar to fruit punch cherry juice. I can taste a bit of tart raspberry and as well as juicy blackberries. Throughout the sip, lots of hibiscus! Pondi Cherry finishes off with a pretty strong tart dryness to the throat, say a 6/10 on the dry-o-meter. No flatness or bitterness in this tea.

Okay okay, I purchased this tea not to drink hot. This is iced tea bait!

ICED TEA: Pondi Cherry iced is more cherry and hibiscus in flavor, with the other berry flavors not very noticable. Again, this tea finishes off with dryness, but not as bad, say a 4/10 on the Dry-o-meter. I think I added too much ice as it was a little weak.

Pondi Cherry from New Mexico Tea Company - Oolong Owl Tea Review (8)

COMMENTS: Pondi Cherry is pretty cool for being a cherry herbal, setting it apart from the usual strawberry and orange fruit only teas. What I really like about this tea was it wasn’t flat compared to a few other fruit herbals I’ve had. The berry mix is quite nice and the cherry flavor is great. There is a dry aftertaste, but to be expected with all that tart going on.

If you like a bit of tart, or looking for a caffeine free fruit herbal, Pondi Cherry is cherrytastic!

Bonus pic!

Pondi Cherry from New Mexico Tea Company - Oolong Owl Tea Review (5)

5 thoughts on “Pondi Cherry from New Mexico Tea Company – Tea Review

  1. This sounds kind of like DAVIDsTEA’s Xanadu (which is no longer available *sad owl*). I found it tasted like sour cherry Starburst and tart raspberries unsweetened, but once it was sweetened, it was very candy like and more like a normal cherry Starburst with hints of raspberry and elderberry. I think I may have to snag this Pondi Cherry to take the long gone Xanadu’s place.

    • *nods
      I never got to try Xanadu, but it does sound similar! Always hope DT will bring back teas.. I’m hoping for Pom Power.
      NMTea Co does free US shipping and sample sizes, so it’s cheap enough to try it. The packet I got was the 1oz for $3.75.

      • Alas, I am in Canada, so no free shipping for me! Oh well, there’s a DT location in my mall! So I have that! I hope they do the bring back a tea from the dead thing again (did that a couple years back, was so hard to choose)!

      • Ah yes, I remember that promotion! I voted every day and bought some tea from it. Think thats where I got my Cherry Blossom and Strawberry Rhubarb crumble (and Fantasy Island) from. They need to do that again!

  2. Yes, they do! So many great teas that I’d love to have in my tea cupboard again! And ones that I missed out on when they opened (the one near me opened in 2010) that sound soo good!

Leave a Reply

